Gwinnett County DUI Defense

DUI Defense Lawyer in Gwinnett County, Georgia

Peachtree Corners, Gwinnett County DUI Defense Attorney

If you have been arrested for DUI in Georgia, it is in your best interest to hire experienced legal counsel without delay.

In GA, you are prohibited from getting behind the wheel of a motor vehicle if you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or greater, or 0.02 percent if you are under the age of 21.

The penalties for DUI can be severe, even for first-time offenders.

Table of Contents

DUI Penalties in Gwinnett County, GA

Although actual penalties vary based on the particulars of your unique case, standard DUI penalties for first and subsequent offenses include:

  • First offense DUI

    Up to 12 months in jail w/ a minimum sentence of 24 hours, fines of up to $1,000, 12-month license suspension, minimum of 20 hours community service, and probation.
  • Second offense DUI

    Up to 12 months in jail w/ a minimum sentence of 72 hours, fines of up to $1,000, three-year license suspension, minimum of 30 days community service, and probation. If the second offense occurs within five years of the first, you will need to surrender your license plates until your driver’s license is reinstated.
  • Third offense DUI

    Up to 12 months in jail w/ a minimum sentence of 15 days, fines of up to $5,000, permanent revocation of your driver’s license, minimum of 30 days community service, and probation. You will need to forfeit the vehicle you were driving at the time of your DUI for any third or subsequent conviction. The vehicle will then be sold.

DUI Aggravating Factors in Gwinnett County, Georgia

If a child was in the vehicle at the time of your DUI, you may also be charged with child endangerment. A conviction for child endangerment will increase your sentence, adding up to 12 months in jail and another $1,000 in fines.

Anyone convicted of DUI must be evaluated for alcohol and drug dependency, and second and subsequent offenders must also attend DUI School.

Further, if your DUI resulted in the injury or death of another, you will automatically receive a three-year driver’s license suspension and you will be ineligible for a hardship license or early reinstatement. 

    Add a header to begin generating the table of contents


    If you have been charged with DUI, contact the Law Office of Adam D. Brown, LLC today at (404) 383-3388 for a free and confidential consultation about your case.

    Why You Need a Lawyer for a DUI Charge in Gwinnett County

    Although a DUI carries stiff penalties, there are certain ways to get penalties reduced. In some cases, with the help of an experienced GA DUI defense lawyer, you can even get charges dismissed.

    Let’s consider license suspensions. First-time offenders get a 12-month license suspension, however, your license may be reinstated after 120 days under certain circumstances, including the completion of an educational DUI program and payment of nominal fees.

    Second-time offenders get a three-year suspension but may qualify for reinstatement after 18 months, and third offenders may be able to obtain a probationary license after a period of time. A DUI defense attorney can help you determine whether or not you qualify for a license suspension reduction.

    Hardship licenses may also be available for first-time offenders and those who have not had a prior DUI within five years. To qualify for a hardship license, you must be enrolled in a treatment program and have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed in your vehicle.

    DUI Defenses in Gwinnett County, Georgia

    In some cases, DUI charges can be dropped altogether due to lack of evidence or the violation of your rights. An experienced DUI defense lawyer can help you determine if either of these situations apply to your particular case.

    If law enforcement failed to use proper arrest procedures, or violated your constitutional rights during the arrest, any related evidence may be thrown out as a result.

    If, for example, your attorney can show that police did not have probable cause to stop your vehicle, the court is likely to deem all related evidence inadmissible.

    Further, breath test devices can be faulty, or the officer may have administered the test improperly. In either case, BAC results may become invalid.

    Contact the Law Office of Adam D. Brown, LLC Today

    Let us defend your DUI charge. Our highly-skilled DUI defense lawyer knows how to get clients’ DUI charges reduced, or dropped entirely.

    We will will work diligently and tirelessly to position you in a favorable light so that you can avoid jail time, hefty fines, the loss of your license, and a criminal record. Don’t go through this difficult process alone.

    Contact the Law Office of Adam D. Brown, LLC today at (404) 383-3388 for a free and confidential consultation about your case.

    See What Others Have To Say

    Our experienced lawyer has successfully defended numerous clients charged with a crime in Georgia.