Super Speeder Speeding Ticket Lawyer in Georgia
Speeding is one of the most common traffic violations. Surprisingly, Georgia speeding tickets are full misdemeanor criminal offenses, punishable by up to 12 months in jail and a $1,000.00 fine plus court costs.
Super speeders and repeat offenders, in particular, may face license suspension, a permanent criminal record, and future problems finding employment or paying for car insurance.
If you receive a speeding ticket, you may also face being designated a “super speeder” if you don’t fight the ticket. Speak with an experienced speeding ticket lawyer at the Law Office of Adam D. Brown.
Speeding ticket offenses in Georgia
Georgia speeding ticket points system
Speeding is a misdemeanor offense with maximum penalties of a $1,000.00 fine plus court costs and 12 months in jail. In reality, probation or jail is rarely served for regular speeding offenses.
Like most states, Georgia uses a license points system. Each driver starts with a clean license and points are added for each driving offense. If you reach 15 points within any 24-month period, your license will be suspended.
For regular speeding offenses, the number of points added to your license depends on the location and speed you were driving:
- 2 points for driving at 15-18 mph over the limit
- 3 points for driving at 19-23 mph over the limit
- 4 points for driving at 24-33 mph over the limit
- 6 points for driving at 34 mph or more over the limit
What is a Georgia super speeder?
Like many states, Georgia created a new “super speeder” designation, which took effect in 2010. This designation is in addition to the basic speeding ticket penalties. It is a $200.00 additional fine added to certain speeding convictions.
A super speeder is defined as a driver who:
- Drives 75 mph or more on a two-lane road, or
- Drives 85 mph or more on any road or highway
Will my license be suspended if I have a super speeder ticket?
Under Georgia law, you will not receive any additional penalty points on your license but if the speeding offense takes your points total to 15 or beyond, your license will be suspended.
If you fail to pay the $200.00 fine to the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) within 90 days of being convicted of the qualifying speeding ticket, your license will be suspended.
If your license is suspended due to non-payment of the super speeder fee, you will also be required to pay a $50.00 reinstatement fee on top of the super speeder fee in order to get your license and/or driving privileges (if out of state licensee) reinstated.
How long does a super speeder conviction stay on my record?
Your criminal record in Georgia (GCIC) is the official record kept by the State. If you are convicted of a crime here, it will stay on your record forever unless you successfully apply for post-conviction relief, which may include “record restriction.” It should be noted that Georgia’s Record Restriction statute is extremely limited. There may be other post-conviction remedies available to you, but those are limited as well. That is why it is important to fight your case instead of pleading at the first chance you get.
A speeding ticket that also qualifies for a super speeder designation may, therefore, come up on your record during any future criminal background check.
It is no different from any other misdemeanor criminal offense in this respect. This is why it is important not to simply accept a super speeder ticket without considering your legal options.
As well as the possible license suspension, a super speeder ticket can also cause a strain on long-term finances with increased car insurance payments.
A super speeder conviction will typically remain on your car insurance policy for up to 35 months.
What options do I have if I’ve paid my super speeder ticket?
Before paying your super speeder ticket, consider your legal options with the Law Office of Adam D. Brown.
Paying your super speeder ticket is an admission of guilt to the offense. If you have already paid it, you only have two options:
- Send the $200.00 administrative fee to the DDS, or
- Consult your lawyer and file a motion to withdraw your plea of guilty (this may be granted if your license has been suspended)
If you take option two and the court grants the motion, your lawyer would be able to start building your defense.
Why didn’t the court collect the $200 super speeder fee when I paid my other fines?
The Super Speeder Law requires the Department of Driver Services (DDS) to administer and collect the $200 fee. You can pay this by mail or in-person at a DDS Customer Service Center.
This is dealt with separately from fines for the speeding violation, which may be collected by the court if you are required to appear before a judge.
Contact an experienced super speeder lawyer in Gwinnett County
Everyone makes mistakes. If you have been “awarded” a speeding ticket that qualifies for a super speeder designation in the Gwinnett County area, you need to ensure that one mistake does not create difficulties for the rest of your life.
Remember, pleading guilty to a speeding ticket, whether or not it qualifies for a super speeder designation, may lead to a criminal record that can change your life. It can also result in a substantial increase in your insurance rates and a possible license suspension.
Adam Brown can help you consider your legal options, preserve your rights, and defend your super speeding charge so that you escape the most serious consequences.
Start now with a free consultation.