Traffic Offense Lawyer in Gwinnett County, Georgia
Many people are surprised just how severe the penalties can be for traffic offenses in Georgia.
Even a relatively minor violation such as driving a few miles per hour over the speed limit can result in a hefty fine, a lifelong criminal record, and even a prison sentence.
If you are arrested but never prosecuted, the record of your arrest may even show up on background checks for years after the incident.
We do not believe that an innocent mistake on the roads should affect you for the rest of your life. At the Office of Adam D. Brown, LLC, our traffic offense lawyers are dedicated to protecting your rights, your driver’s license, and your criminal record.
With our legal assistance, you have a good chance of escaping the most serious consequences of a driving offense ticket in Gwinnett County.
Table of Contents
Common Traffic Offenses
In Georgia, traffic offenses account for the largest proportion of criminal offenses. The following offenses are the most common in Gwinnett County:
Penalties for speeding in Gwinnett County depend largely on how many mph you were over the limit. Generally, it is a misdemeanor offense resulting in a fine of up to $1,000 and up to 12 months in jail. Your driver’s license may also be suspended and your insurance premiums will increase.
If you are caught driving at 75 mph or more on a two-lane road or at 85 mph or more on any road or highway in Gwinnett County, you will receive a “super speeder” ticket. This law means that you will be required to pay an additional $200 super speeder fee on top of the standard fine. You have 120 days to pay this or your driver’s license will be suspended.
Generally, reckless driving is treated as a misdemeanor criminal offense, with penalties of up to 12 months in jail and fines of up to $1,000. Additionally, you will face increased insurance premiums and the suspension of your license if you exceed the point threshold from the Georgia Department of Driver Services.
Improper Lane Change
In other states, you may get away with a warning or just a ticket for not exercising due care and attention when changing lanes. In Georgia, it is a criminal offense that could lead to a misdemeanor charge, a fine of up to $1,000, and even up to 12 months in jail.
Hit and Run
You may not be surprised to hear that hit and run offenses are treated especially harshly in Georgia if someone was hurt or killed. In fact, you may be charged with a felony and face a prison sentence of up to 15 years. If nobody was injured, it is more likely to be a misdemeanor charge with a fine of up to $1,000, higher insurance premiums, etc.
Following too Closely
The offense of following too closely in Georgia normally arises from a rear-end collision. If you hit the car in front of you, it usually means that you failed to maintain a reasonable distance and this could result in a misdemeanor criminal charge, a fine up to a $1,000 fine, and even a jail term of up to 12 months.
Driving Without a License & Suspended License
If convicted of driving without a license, it is treated as if you were driving on a suspended license.
This means that for a first offense you will face at least 2 days in jail plus the remainder of 12 months on probation, a minimum $500.00 fine, and a 6-month “hard” suspension of your driving privileges.
A second or third conviction within 5 years is considered a “high and aggravated” misdemeanor, and will increase the minimum punishment to 10 days in jail, and a minimum $1,000.00 fine.
A fourth conviction is a felony, punishable by 1 to 5 years in prison, and a fine of $2,500.00 to $5,000.00. An experienced Georgia traffic attorney will be able to help you avoid the hefty penalties.
For a first-time DUI in Gwinnett County, you can expect penalties that are similar to other misdemeanor driving offenses: up to 12 months in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, and a 12-month license suspension. If it is your second or subsequent offense, the penalties will be more severe.
If your actions while driving result in the death of another person, you could face a prison sentence of up to 15 years. You may also be the subject of a civil suit from the victim’s family. Without a strong defense for such a charge, you could face dramatic, life-altering consequences.
Why do you need a traffic offense lawyer?
The descriptions of the above penalties for traffic offenses should provide a clear picture of why you need the assistance of a traffic offense lawyer if you are charged with a traffic violation in Gwinnett County.
There really is no “minor” traffic offense in Georgia due to our harsh penalties for disobeying the driving rules.
While the initial fine, loss of license, and possible jail time are harsh enough, the long-term effects of a criminal record for the rest of your life can be devastating.
To us, this does not seem fair for a single misdemeanor on the roads, and trying to handle the charge alone can be a huge mistake.
Never simply admit guilt and agree to the ticket. An experienced traffic offense lawyer can help you prepare a defense that fights the charge.
No matter how “open and shut” your case seems, you are entitled to defend yourself and there are nearly always legitimate defenses available that can mitigate the consequences.
Contact the Law Office of Adam D. Brown Today
If you have been charged with a traffic violation in Gwinnett County, the experienced traffic ticket lawyers at the Law Office of Adam D. Brown, LLC will explore every avenue to prevent a conviction and a criminal record.
We have a strong track record of getting traffic tickets reduced or dismissed entirely.
We can evaluate the details of your case and advise you of your legal options in a free and confidential consultation. Call (404) 883-8893.